Questions for April

by Lisa Silva, photo by A’Tayvia Ashwood

April is a nice lady. She is my current client coordinator. For a long time she was our mixed media studio instructor here at Southside. Now she is the Art Department Supervisor. Read my interview to find out some of her favorite things and more about her work at Southside.

How did you end up at Southside?

I worked in the non-profit sector for years, and love working in places that help people. I have also been an artist pretty much since Ii was born so this position seemed perfect to merge those two worlds.

What jobs did you have before?

I’ve worked in offices mostly and spent a while with Girl Scouts teaching girls art and leadership skills.

How did you move to Sacramento?

I’ve lived in Sacramento all my life actually.

How do you like teaching at Southside?

I love teaching art at Southside, definitely the most rewarding job I’ve ever had.

Why did you apply to John’s Job? How do you like it so far?

I applied for John’s job because I have learned a lot since I started with Southside and I thought that I could be a good leader for the team. So far it’s going great! I’m learning lots of new things so far and growing my skill set. Its going great!

What is your favorite song? Do you like R+B, rock?

I love all kinds of music – rap, hip-hop, alternative – you name it, I don’t really have a favorite.

What is your favorite color?

That’s tough. I love all colors but I guess if had to chose it would be purple.

How did you become my client coordinator?

I inherited your case after and another staff left and have been happy to work with you.

Leave a Reply

