Forgetting Sarah Marshall Movie Review

By Joe Siciliano

Directed by Nicholas Stoller and co-produced by Judd Apatow, “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” stars Jason Segel (who also wrote the script for the film) as a struggling musician named Peter Bretter who finds his world turned upside down when his celebrity girlfriend Sarah Marshall (Kristen Bell), dumps him for a tragically hip rock star, Aldous Snow (Russell Brand). Devastated by this event, Peter chooses to go on a vacation in Hawaii in order to try and move forward with his life, but trouble ensues when he runs into his ex on the island, as she is vacationing with her new boyfriend. The movie also stars Mila Kunis, Bill Hader, Jonah Hill, Paul Rudd, and Jack McBrayer, and the movie ends with a Dracula-based rock opera involving puppets called “A Taste For Love”, in which Peter performs as Count Dracula. “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” first came out in 2008 and became such a big success, not to mention Jason Segel’s first hit film. This movie is definitely one of Jason’s best films, right next to both of his films, 2009’s “I Love You, Man” (which starred both him and Paul Rudd), and the 2011 Disney movie “The Muppets”. I have the movie on DVD, and it is one of my favorite movies because of Jason Segel’s outrageously funny, scene-stealing performance.

I was not familiar with Jason before until the first time I saw this movie, and it made me become a fan of his work so fast. Jason has come such a long, long way since his career took off, and I have been his number one fan since 2011. I sure hope that he will keep on doing what he loves to do. Also, I truly believe that he can go as far as he wants to go and nothing is impossible for him. He has real talent, such good looks, and an amazing singing voice because I have heard him sing before, and he will always be a big star in my eyes no matter what. Seriously, “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” will always be one of the funniest comedy films of all time, and I will never ever get tired of watching it for as long as I live!

Leave a Reply

